Here Begins the Last Semester

Bleh. That’s how I feel about my spiritual life these past few weeks. Not meeting with all of my believer friends (I honestly didn’t put forth much effort to) and not taking time to draw close to God on my own has taken a toll on me. It’s made me think how far I could go personally if I really did put in the time that I wish I did. Soooo…

In an effort to expand my comfort zone and spiritual boundaries I’m gonna commit to getting up a whole THIRTY MINUTES EARLY in order to read scripture and pray for this semester. In addition I’m going to actually try hard to randomly share the Gospel at school. I’ve definitely put forth effort in the past, but I often found myself making excuses such as, “It may be awkward,” or “This may not be the right time.” That’s stupid. There’s no wrong time to share the love of God.

This semester is gonna be one that shakes the walls of Coronado High School with the immeasurable glory of God. I know it.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About Garrett Oden

Garrett Oden is a manager and trainer at Yellow House Coffee in Lubbock, Texas. When he's not slinging espresso, he's writing for CBG and beyond, dating his wife, and reading everything I can get my hands on.

8 responses to “Here Begins the Last Semester”

  1. theWomanAtTheWell says :

    Reblogged this on The Woman At The Well and commented:
    I am still getting familiar with this site and the author(s) but wow this post stirred me the vid clip was inspiring and beautiful…God Bless the youth about to rise! Keep your mighty hand to change the wind meant to blow out the fire instead, cause it to grow…In Jesus name I ask and pray Amen… Friends? Will you join my prayer and while you’re at it, check out this post? BTW.. Anyone got a Candle Lighter Award handy?…This post deserves it for sure, Or have we forgotten just how hard it is to cary a torch for God into our High Schools?!

  2. theWomanAtTheWell says :

    Garrett,
    I usually don’t reblog without permission, I hope you don’t mind, your post just really needed a spot light, Awesome post my friend. Are you part of the group in the vid clip? I like to promote authors who have other work going besides blogging on line like a flicker thing or YouTube, If this is a group you are in I would add it to my youtube channel too..just wondering. anyway Glad to see you here, God Bless. -watw

    • Garrett Oden says :

      I absolutely don’t mind you reblogging at all! Oh how I wish I was part of that group! I follow United Pursuit Band closely and love their worship but they life far away =[

  3. mephibashef says :

    LIKE the woman at the well, i too have just been lurking about, and the video stirred my spirit. Blessings to you, keep writing, keep singing, keep your eyes on the Lord this year. Blessings to you. – bab

  4. Colline says :

    May God bless you while you make this change. Not only will you be bringing His love to others’ notice, but you will feel blessed as you carry out what you know is filling your heart.

  5. Kate Kresse says :

    You, my friend are now the recipient of the Candle Lighter Award. please copy the badge and the link.
    Give the award to whomever you deem worthy of a Candle LIghter—and use the link to the info about the award. Let me know how it is going, ok? http://believeanyway.wordpress.com/2011/12/18/creation-of-new-blog-award-the-candle-lighter-award/

Leave a Reply

